Believe. In yourself

I think I’ll start and say that your vision is yours and oftentimes no one else sees it like you

Your vision is yours and oftentimes no one else sees it like you

Hi guys. Or hi me (since as at the time of writing, this is a private blog) 😀. Long time no stories of surviving sadness. Today is about none of that, instead today is about planting my feet in the soils of this earth. Yes this is new me, this is the Iyanuoluwa that believes that she deserves to be on this earth as much as any other person and so Iyanuoluwa will live as fully or even more than any other person

Y’all know me. Madam boxed in ambitions. Wrong! An important lesson I learnt from my therapist this year is that ambition does not come in one shape and size. Is it not grand to want a live spent with the joy of a stable family? Is it not grand to want to travel the world? Is it not grand to want deep rooted friendships? And is it not even grand to want a home to come to every night? Is it not grand to want to work a flexible job that I love? To dream of becoming a psychologist? To dream of love? Because those are the things I want. And if you think that these things come cheap then I’ll ask that you please have deep rethinks. The thing about ambition is to find out what you want very deeply and keep maxxing it out. Then you’re ambitious. Don’t ever play small. Whatever it is that you want. And please realise that again ambition does not come in one shape and size. Think about it, for a person that grew up hungry 5 nights out of 7, daring to dream of feeding yourself and others is very ambitious. For someone who grew up in cold dark spaces empty of living and loving, daring to dream of a home is very ambitious.

Define yourself daily. Don’t allow the rat race of money and fame and recognition swallow you. There is ambition both in the little things and in the large things.

Define yourself daily. Don’t allow the rat race of money and fame and recognition swallow you. There is ambition both in the little things and in the large things.

Now comes the title of this post. Hold on firmly to that which you believe in. A lot of times, even friends and family might not see your vision. Don’t be too quick to discard people for not seeing your vision, you do not want to live in an echo chamber, yet hold on firmly to that which you believe in. It might be helpful to at least have someone on your side, but you must firstly be on your own side. You must unshakably believe in your self, in your vision, in your rights to live as fully on this earth as any other person.

If you’re worried about what is right, follow these patterns

1. Define your core values. I know mine; comfort, kindness, expressions. These are the values that keep me grounded, that affirm me, that fill me with light, and that I don’t want to deviate from. So what are those unshakeable truths at your core? Is it loyalty? Competition? Justice? Find it. Build around it

2. Follow the principles: is it true? Is it kind? Is it necessary? Does it bring me fulfillment?

3. Don’t ignore the trappings of this world. Some people want to be very wealthy, some want to be comfortable, but I doubt anybody wants to be poor. Money is a very useful tool, and if you ignore it you might really not be able to be as ambitious as you want. An hungry belly cannot think about what is right.

And those are my 2 cents peaches.

May the journey keep bringing us home.

Leave a comment